Counseling, Leadership, Literacy, and Special Education

Chair: Janet R. DeSimone (Carman Hall, Room B20)

Department Faculty: Professors: Stuart Chen-Hayes, Harriet Fayne, Barbara Gottlieb, Gaoyin Qian; Associate Professors: Janet R. DeSimone, Faith Deveaux, Danielle Magaldi, Limor Pinhasi-Vittorio, Rosa Rivera-McCutchen, Laura Roberts; Assistant Professors: Alyse Anekstein, Jennifer Van Allen; Lecturers: Sheila Blachman, Faith Muturia

The Department of Counseling, Leadership, Literacy, and Special Education offers programs leading in the following areas: counselor education (school counseling), special education, educational leadership (school building and district leader), organizational leadership (higher education, non-profit, corporate, hospital leadership) and literacy. Students interested in such coursework and in preparation for New York State certification and New York City licensure should contact a faculty advisor in the department. Programs are also offered in dual certification for Childhood and Special Education, Early Childhood and Special Education, Literacy and Special Education, and advanced certification in Special Education. Several programs also have a bi-lingual option and students need to speak with an advisor for further information.