Department Chair: Ryan Raaum (Davis Hall, Room 427)

Deputy Chair: Christa Salamandra (Davis Hall, Room 429)

Undergraduate Adviser: Ryan Raaum (Davis Hall, Room 427)

Department Faculty and Staff: Emeritus: Richard Blot; Professors: Eric Delson, Christa Salamandra, Victoria Sanford; Associate Professors: William E.H. Harcourt-Smith, Cameron L. McNeil, Ryan Raaum, Stephanie Rupp; Assistant Professor: Anthony Dest, Victoria M. Dominguez; Distinguished Lecturer: Rima Brusi; Chief College Laboratory Technician: Salah Noueihed

The discipline of Anthropology utilizes a four-field approach to the study of human beings in the world. Archaeology traces cultural evolution of past human societies from their beginnings to the development of complex societies. Linguistics explores languages cross-culturally, including topics such as language structure and sociocultural dimensions of language use. Cultural Anthropology focuses on cultural variation and social structure around the world in the realm of law, politics, media, magic, art, religion, science and technology. Physical anthropology includes the study of humans and their primate relatives in terms of evolution, biology, and behavior as well as Forensic Anthropology and Genetics. The Department offers a major in anthropology; an interdisciplinary major in anthropology (physical), biology, and chemistry; and a 12-credit minor in Anthropology and the inter-disciplinary Human Rights and Peace Studies program.